Submitting a Story: Hope & Rejection

Ah, the beautiful agony of pausing right before you hit the final confirmation button to send your fictional piece to a literary magazine.

images (1)

It’s not as if this is my first time sweating it out over the submission forms; last season I submit a short story for the same magazine I’m contemplating over now. The difference was that last time I wrote, edit and submit a story 2 hours before the deadline. Part of me thought this was going to be pulled off brilliantly – maybe talent lies in the mad rush? – but most of me knew better. This knowing better part was of course correct, and the story was rejected.

That rejection didn’t hurt too badly, I was actually glad that they didn’t choose the story because the next morning I woke up and realised that I just sent proper editors a really dodgy, unoriginal, slapped together piece that probably had spelling and grammar mistakes due to the mad hurry to get it done. Embarrassing, really, that I even sent it in. But deadlines can make you do things like that.

This time however, I have worked on a story that I originally wrote last year, but that fits this issue’s theme. I re-wrote it, edited it and then rubbed a four leaf clover over my screen. This time if rejection comes it won’t be as easy to pass over and accept because this is a story I have worked harder on, spent time with, edited to (what I think is) almost perfection (since true perfection in fiction doesn’t exist unless you’re Kafka) and really enjoyed writing it. 

Regardless of the story’s origin, this one means a bit more to me than the last disaster. Pausing over the submission button isn’t as much a pause as a 48 hour delay. Should I submit and gamble? Or not even try? Well, I know the answer to that. If I really believe in it, I may as well give it a chance, after all this is a blog about becoming the best writer I can be, and hopefully getting published, what kind of start would this be if I didn’t begin with seizing a chance?

1000457_496988433714758_2099313141_n
Blurry photo of my story because if it wasn’t fuzzy you’d totally steal it. It’s just soooo good. Kidding, I’m embarrassed.
21 thoughts on “Submitting a Story: Hope & Rejection

  1. I love the changes you made here; your header made me giggle, in a good way. 🙂

    I’m giving a piece of flash fiction a last edit before deciding which steam punk e-zine to submit it to. Mentally I’ve already started the nail biting. :/ Never submitted anything before. *hyperventilates*

    Ultimately, though, I can’t wait to find out if it’s good enough. 🙂

    Here’s hoping you get good news about the story. (fingers crossed)

    1. I’m glad you giggled 😀 I didn’t want people to take it too seriously as it was an accidental photo taken by my partner after taking my gravatar photo that made me laugh.

      Good luck! And thank you. Hopefully we both get good news 🙂

  2. Just Do It
    [This comment was brought to you by someone ripping off Nike’s catchphrase]

    Try not to fear rejection as it will help you to see where improvements can be made, eventually turning you into an amazing writer.

    Good luck 🙂
    x

    1. I did it 🙂
      I am now in the waiting game of wondering if it will be accepted. Who knows! But I am proud of that story so if it is rejected I’ll still like it.
      Thank you 🙂 x

        1. I think it’s going to next month sometime, so I have all those lovely days to wonder… haha. I’m currently writing two new short stories so if I come across competitions to submit them to I’ll have even more wondering to do. At least it keeps me occupied.

  3. Good luck! I am a proper nosey parker; and therefore would like to ask… What do you do for work whilst you try to get published? I only ask out of genuine curiosity, and well; I like asking people who I admire for their skills/talents/experience about what they do for a living, so please do take it as a compliment!

    1. I am unemployed university student, so I don’t really have a living. My jobs are all hospitality and such. I am hoping that I’ll have a ‘proper’ job eventually though haha. After uni I’ll be attempting to find one of those while writing in my personal time. I’ll take it as a compliment 🙂

      1. That’s awesome! I’m always interested in what people do; not because of money or anything, but I like finding out people’s ambitions and so on, it inspires me to try and achieve mine! Do take it as a compliment! I bet you’ll be an awesome writer (paid and stuff). 🙂

  4. Good luck with the latest submission! That image comes up totally black for me. Even after refreshing. I’ve had that a bit lately: images on wordpress blogs not displaying properly. Strange.
    Just remember JK Rowling was rejected recently with that new book she wrote as some dude.

  5. Best of luck! It’s always worth a go. The writing game is always so subjective anyway, even a rejection doesn’t mean that your work isn’t good – just that it maybe didn’t strike enough of a chord with the judges.

Leave a Reply

