Aching Hands Mean Creativity

Today I fished out my big art folio that was gifted to me when I was 12. I flicked through the pages, past all the embarrassing sketches of my own name, and found some blank spaces. Then I pulled out my pencils, gifted that same year, and sat down to draw something. I was meant to be getting a headstart on an assignment due in a couple of weeks, but the art was calling to me. I’m pretty sure it was saying, “procrastinaaate…procrastinaate..”

So I drew a shrew.

As you do.

I'm afraid that I wasn't able to capture the true colours when taking a photo. They blend together a lot more smoothly in person. Just squint.
I’m afraid that I wasn’t able to capture the true colours when taking a photo. They blend together a lot more smoothly in person. Just squint. 

I am not much of an artist, sometimes I can draw and sometimes I cannot. It’s certainly not consistent and my usual problem is not knowing what to put on paper. I have always been surrounded by people who can draw almost anything, even my mother used to sometimes whip up something for me because she went to art school for a bit. Having excellent artists around you since forever gives you a kind of complex: you see the art being done, so you know it’s possible, then you try to do it and somehow the task has become impossible. And that’s why I burnt everyone’s easels on that dark night…

Here’s some of my ‘art’ in the hopes it inspires you to draw if you want to and not worry that everyone else is better!

Here is a pen on back of restaurant order pad,
Here is a pen on back of restaurant order pad, “First Mate”. Art.
Here is
Here is “Camel” . Wow.
Here is,
Here is, “Of Course I Drew This When I Was A Teenager, Just Look At the Cliche-ness”

I mostly used to draw animals like mice and cats, minimalist, hard lines. Have you ever been through your old artwork and felt a mixture of pride and embarrassment? That’s how I felt today. I really enjoyed the abstract creature (half giraffe, half cat, half human, apparently) I drew with the smoldering eyes, but cringed at the attempted human faces I did when I was young. I even tried to draw Hilary Duff, guys…

6 thoughts on “Aching Hands Mean Creativity

Leave a Reply

