What Has Changed: 1 Year On WordPress

One year from the day I signed up for a mysterious thing called a blog, wordpress sent me a small celebratory message.

anniWordPress tells you that it’s a good idea to pick a theme. Travelling? Cooking? Crafts? Well, I was just someone who wanted a space to write opinion pieces with little infusions of humour. I wanted to connect to other people who liked reading and writing, but also to people doing other interesting things, so I could see glimpses into lives the world over. I have certainly connected to others, though I have no doubt failed at the attempted one-liners.

My first post was called “Click Delete” and it has zero likes because starting a blog is a lonely business. I enjoy my first posts, they have a sort of hope about them, beginner’s joy. I have been trying to bring my blog back to it’s original intent lately. It’s interesting to visit the start of your page and see how it evolves into its present state over time.

It is very strange to know that it has been a year. It seems like 8 months because things are still the same, really. I study, I fail at life, I eat. At the beginning of a year it seems as though the 12 months will take forever to pass. By the time they have, you wonder where all the time went. It is depressing, almost, to look back over a year of posts showing me that nothing big has happened at first glance. It’s only when I go deeper that I can see the few events that make life that little bit better; I celebrated a birthday this year over dinner with friends; I had a wonderfully fun waterfight; after this semester I will have finished a year of my degree; I have started 2 novels; I have finished short stories; I won a writing competition; I got to dance with some friends on their birthdays; we visited family a few hours away; I left the job that made me wake up wanting to cry or throttle someone; I learned to cook; I was Freshly Pressed; I climbed a tower at night; celebrated a 3 year anniversary; I got tested for a disease I finally attempted gardening and finally, I am learning with every post how to better sculpt article style pieces of writing. Surely, that’s something.

Other really important mentions from the year involve:

I dressed up as '70s Jenny from Forest Gump and tried to not snort cocaine and stand on the edge of a balcony overlooking a busy road, so deeply did I become my character. I also managed to look rolly polly fat, pink and pained in this picture.
The time I dressed up as ’70s Jenny from Forest Gump and tried to not snort cocaine and stand on the edge of a balcony overlooking a busy road, so deeply did I become my character. I also managed to look rolly polly fat, pink and 40 in this picture.
I received a letter that called me Sir instead of Miss which made me yell,
I received a letter that called me Sir instead of Miss which made me yell, “I am no Ser” pretending to be The Hound.
While walking home one day I found this photograph on the ground. I kept walking for a bit, then overcome with laughter doubled back for a picture. Sup, Harry P.
While walking home one day I found this photograph on the ground. I kept walking for a bit, then overcome with laughter doubled back for a picture. Sup, Harry P.
My bookshelf went from having spaces to...
My bookshelf went from having spaces to…
...needing to be much bigger.
…needing to be much bigger.
A photo of me glitched and became this and suddenly I knew that all I wanted from life was to have a double face.
A photo of me glitched and became this and suddenly I knew that all I wanted from life was to have a double face.

No big travels to other countries were had, I didn’t learn another language, I did not hike over a mountain, I did not lose those jiggly bits, I did not make new friends, I did not get published, I did not finally manage to grow a fabulous head of hair, I did not quit all my bad habits… but I did learn that I need to work harder and play more. I learned that I have to face fears and get the yucky bits of life done with. I learned that writing takes a lot of practice, thought and effort. It’s been a year of showing me what not to do, what to do more of, what areas to work on and things I must get done. I guess it has been a year of slow learning.

Perhaps this is a call to productivity, fun and friendship.

Take a moment to travel back in Mitten’s Kittens time:

Remember when I asked, where’s the virginity?
Remember my favourite old thing?
Remember when I posted a selfie?
Remember when I was published?
Remember how I write books inside my head?
Remember when I submit fiction?
Remember the zombies?

Thank you to all of the beautiful people who comment and like and encourage, you’re all brilliant, truly. It’s nice to have followers who have made the year that bit more special. A giant love pie to you all.

27 thoughts on “What Has Changed: 1 Year On WordPress

    1. Well so far I’ve only done 2 so I haven’t been very good at the flashbacks haha, I like the idea of the blackout for a bit. Cheers to us indeed haha šŸ™‚

    1. Haha why thank you, it ain’t so bad! Hopefully my second year brings me more blogging friends, another Freshly Pressed maybe and some more awesome stuff to read.

  1. I’m 2 years into my blog and still just learning how to write. I hope to be freshly pressed one day and to have my novel published. I still have a lot to learn about writing.
    Good luck for another year.
    Ps: hows the basil? My mint keeps dying.

    1. My basil died šŸ˜¦ An early frost came and finished it off. I didn’t realise they were sensitive to cold! I have it’s plant corpse still in the pot because I am too sad to throw it away šŸ˜¦

  2. I really enjoy reading your blog. I love that it’s quite varied…keeps the reader on their toes I guess šŸ™‚ Anyway many congratulations šŸ™‚ Well done! I hope to read more šŸ™‚

  3. Happy Blogiversary! šŸ˜€ I was just commenting to someone else the other day on how many of us started at much the same time. Must have been something in the air. Looking forward to reading more and to catching up with some of the old posts, starting with the zombies.

  4. Thanks for the pie. I like pie. I also enjoy reading your writing. You have rare compassion, objectivity and insight and don’t forget you got wordpressed which not many people do, particularly in their first year. Hank you too!

  5. Well, I hope my blog looks like yours after a year. I don’t get the ‘find a theme’ obsession WordPress has either. Do what you do. People will either like it or not.
    Happy anniversary!

Leave a Reply

