If It Matters to You, It’s Important

Just because something is easy to make fun of, doesn’t mean it isn’t important.

Recently, somebody was making fun of my writing on a blog. The television was on in the background and as I looked up to distract my mind from this unnecessary comment I found myself watching an episode of Bones, a show I’ve never watched before. Just as I looked up, a character said, “Just because something is easy to make fun of, doesn’t mean it isn’t important.”
It was just what I needed to hear.

Writing on a site like this is one of those things you do that doesn’t hurt anybody (excluding blogs with ‘lists of people I hate’ and ‘why women suck’). It makes you feel good, connects you to others, tightens your writing skills, allows you to learn new things from other bloggers, teaches you the importance of writing with privacy while still being relevant to your personal life and keeps your mind brimming with inspiration for posts. All good things I would say!

The thing about a boost to your confidence in something is that it doesn’t often come from the people around you, but from somewhere unexpected – like a television show you’ve never seen before. Shows, books, quotes, the radio, strangers etc may not be speaking directly about what you are matching it to, but they can allow you to realise the happiness in your work, reaffirming that loss of confidence instilled by a person. Those closest around you can often be more into, hmm, bringing you down a notch? Not all of them (I certainly have one awesome friend you reads all of these then says they were great, which is really awesome) but some of them can and will. Why? Who knows. I certainly wasn’t bragging about or even mentioning my blog when that attack came – people can just be dicks.

If it’s important to you, it matters.

9 thoughts on “If It Matters to You, It’s Important

  1. I actually had something similar happen to me with my blog recently, except in my case, the reader/friend was just being honest, not trying to be hurtful.

    I’m so sorry about what happened, and if it counts for anything, I think your writing is great and I see no reason why you should let this person’s comments get to you.

    All of us bloggers write because we’re passionate about it, and that, like you said, is more important than anything else.

  2. I totally agree with you about confidence boosts coming from somewhere unexpected (as what happened with me yesterday watching an episode of Dexter). It’s not like we’re looking for consolation or inspiration from a fictional source, but a lot of times, that’s exactly how it happens and where it comes from. And for those that may scoff at this type of re-assurance that we take so literally, they need to remember, that just because it’s a fictional source, a REAL person DID write it! Keep up the great work!

Leave a Reply

