Inside My Wardrobe…

Growing up my fashion style was quite questionable. I didn’t notice at the time, though – when I was a kid, your choice of shirt didn’t necessarily mean all that much, so long as you were clean. This was mostly down to not being a rich family, but also because the ’90s were full of ghastly clothes. Matching tracksuits, floor length skirts, see-through chiffon, black black black, lurid prints… and all mixed up together. It wasn’t pretty. Now that they’re over, today I say that being poor doesn’t necessarily mean that you have to look atrocious!

‘Fashion’ has never had a big impact on my life, due to both an enjoyment of being warm and comfortable above stylish, and a lack of funds. My style choices come mostly from necessity (I no longer have any pants) price, and also of course[!] what the clothes look like. I like simple, well-cut, clean looking clothes. I don’t own many outfits (though following pictures make it look otherwise…) but what I do have, I love, because I shop rarely. If funds are low, don’t shop often, buy things when they’re on sale, and never buy something unless you absolutely love it. I also have a rule that says I absolutely will never spend more than $100 on an item. This has held true except for 1 pair of jeans (that lasted 5 years through lots and lots of wear, and were the best ever) and a tailor made dress for my 21st. I once bought an amazing shirt that cost $150, but plagued by guilt over its price and that I really had nothing to wear with it I took it back the next day for a full refund and haven’t felt bad about it since. Shopping rarely means that the clothes you do have are thought out, good choices, (though randomly coming across something great happens often) that you will look after properly. You save money not shopping every week which means you can spend the extra on the great thing.

Clothes don’t have to cost over 100 bucks to be good. Clothes also don’t have to be a big brand name to be good.  They just have to suit you in colour and cut and be looked after to look awesome, and that means they can come from anywhere.

Here are my Top 10 Favourite Things In My Wardrobe:

Jumpers. I couldn't pick a favourite so chose all 3. Probably not playing the game exactly right. One of these is from an op-shop, one from a cheaper chain store, and one from a higher end chain store, but all were well under $100. I love them all the same.
Jumpers. I couldn’t pick a favourite so chose all 3. Probably not playing the game exactly right. One of these is from an op-shop, one from a cheaper chain store, and one from a higher end chain store, but all were well under $100. I love them all the same.
Fur Stoll. This was my great-grandmothers, so is really quite old. Vintage? I don't believe in killing animals for fur today, but I also don't believe in throwing away perfectly good vintage fur just because of what it is. That's wasting the animals life a second time.
Fur Stole.
This was my great-grandmothers, so is really quite old. I don’t believe in killing animals for fur today, but I also don’t believe in throwing away perfectly good vintage fur just because of what it is. That’s wasting the animals life a second time.
One of my favourite dresses. Sleeves, fitted, interesting colours.
One of my favourite dresses.
Boots are awesome. These were just over ten dollars but have lasted. Comfotable, and they go with everything.
Boots are awesome. These were just over ten dollars but have lasted. Comfotable, and they go with almost everything.
The Birthday Dress itself. You know how clothes are meant to make you feel awesome? That's what this dress did. It was made for me by a lady named Sheridan, who owns a dress-making business called One Trick Pony, and it is fantastic. They're the kinds of dresses that when you see them on a rack you don't really like them, but when you put them on a person they suddenly look beautiful and fabulous. She makes things for people, not coat hangers.www.facebook.com/onetrickponyclothing?fref=ts
The Birthday Dress itself. You know how clothes are meant to make you feel awesome? That’s what this dress did. It was made for me by a lady named Sheridan, who owns a dress-making business called One Trick Pony. She makes the kinds of dresses that don’t look all that great on the rack, but when you put them on a person they suddenly look beautiful and fabulous. It’s a wonderful skill. Facebook search ‘One Trick Pony’.
The only dress I own with the colour pink (almost everything else is blue)
The only dress I own with the colour pink (almost everything else is blue)
Hot Pink Feather Stoll. This is kind of outrageous, it's bright and feathery (no actual birds were harmed in the making of this faux piece) and I feel ridiculous....ly awesome wearing it.
Hot Pink Feather Stole. (sorry about the colour in the picture)
This is kind of outrageous, it’s bright and feathery (no actual birds were harmed in the making of this faux piece) and I feel ridiculous….ly awesome wearing it.
IMAG1832
The wonderful spotty dress.
The pretty shirt.
The pretty shirt.
The elegant dress that I find too formal to where anywhere that isn't a proper event, but love anyway.
The elegant dress that I find too formal to where anywhere that isn’t a proper event, but love anyway.

I am not going to talk about the fashion or advertising industries on this post. I choose clothes not because of magazines, nor models, nor actors, nor brands. I choose clothes that catch my eye, that I feel comfortable in, seem well-made, and that make me happy in that well-dressed kind of way. I do believe that your choice of clothes can be separate from a Paris runway, while also noting that what filters into the stores comes originally from those places. While the advertising industries has it’s evils, demonizing an enjoyment of your clothes is not necessary. I have never paid much attention to trends, but those who do aren’t worse than me. This is just a post for fun!

Youtube Video: Why Do We Wear Clothes?

Exception of the birthday dress, all of the above clothes were below $80 and bought months (and months) apart. Some were from op-shops, some were from sales, some from cheaper stores, some from more expensive, some from dress boutiques, some hand made, some hand-me-downs… and all that I could afford. A versatile wardrobe is a cheaper wardrobe. You don’t need to empty your bank account to have clothes. Now, if only I was really rich then I could have a proper, full blown style…

IMAG1836

IMAG1837

 

 

 

 

 

This was inspired by Laugraeva, who posted a great ‘5 Least Favourite Things In My Wardrobe’. I was originally going to have the same post idea but I recycle clothes once I am done with them too often! All I had was one pair of ugly white shorts that make me look like an explorer / 40 year old mother.

What are your favourite and least favourite outfits or eras?

IMAG1828

11 thoughts on “Inside My Wardrobe…

  1. Love that birthday dress! I’m with you on the shopping mentality. I’ve always been a thrift/vintage shop enthusiast myself. I like digging for treasures, spending as little as possible, and not looking like I stumbled out of a “fashion” factory.

  2. I believe the primary purpose of clothes is FUN! I like a bit of opp shopping and love the variety of Savers. My retro gear is looking less ironic lately so I am am passing it down to the young people who will also have fun with it. I loved your red feathery top.

  3. Cute clothes. I was very unadventurous with colour till the last few years when teaching infants (ie hanging out with small colourful people) influenced me to expand the range of pattern and colour. Still quite heavily blue dependent, though.
    Think my current favourite is funky tweed jacket I’m wearing in the photo in http://braithanlithe.wordpress.com/2013/02/22/three-things-making-me-happy-this-week-part-ii-oh-fedora/
    For the record, never not ever would I wear a pair of ugly white shorts! Or white shorts full stop. 😉

    1. Blue is good, it’s pretty easy to wear and I just like it. I’m not really that colourful, I don’t have many different colours or anything.
      Ooh dapper jacket!
      hahaha glad to know I’m not the only anti-white-shorts person!

      1. But excellent sequins and feathers and bow patterns…I’m at that kind of awkward age where I can’t get away with such things any more, but I fully intend to return to them in a mad old lady phase. Complete with decorative hair clips, etc.
        General problem with my jacket and in fact most of my clothes is for the last six months I’ve hardly worn them. Doing yoga/studying/writing at home, there’s not much sense in being in anything other than hoody & trackie bottoms.

  4. It’s good you wear dresses; I can never seem to find any. I mainly wear t shirts, shorts and pants. And the pink feather stole seems to grow or something when I looked at it. You don’t need drugs, just look at that. Money saved 😉

    1. I always think I have a dress to wear, but when I go to my cupboard I never seem to have the right one for the weather / occassion, so I more frequently wear jeans and t-shirts too 😀
      haha I should sell pictures of it to drug users….

Leave a Reply

