Dear…

Ever since I was small, I’ve kept all the birthday and Christmas cards given to me by friends and family. I used to make new cards out of them when I was a kid; cutting out the cool ‘Happy’s’ and awesome ‘Birthday’s’ and sticking them onto folded colour paper to give to my parents on their special days. After all, kids don’t really buy cards, they make them, and I seemed to enjoy recycling from a young age.

They have all been sitting in a bag now for some years, so I decided to take them out and try to minimized the space they take up. A post by someone under the ‘art’ tag showed how she puts post-cards on a key-ring, and that’s what I decided to do. I cut the cards in half, glued the backs together (so that on one side the front of the card is showing, and on the back the card’s message is showing) and then hole punch the corners and put them on one ring. The cards do take up less room despite still being the same amount of cardboard simply because they can no longer open, though some cards where the person has written their message on the left hand side are even easier to minimize.

Throwing them away is too hard now that it’s been 10+ years for some of them.

Front and message pages of card, cut separate, about to be glued.
Front and message pages of card, cut separate, about to be glued.

Here are some of my favourites.

IMAG1770

Art of by someone called 'Kate Smith' (if I recall properly)
Art of by someone called ‘Kate Smith’ (if I recall properly)
The written words of those passed away.
The written words of those passed away.

IMAG1772

Good-bye's and Good-Luck's
Good-bye’s and Good-Luck’s
I still laugh at this.
I still laugh at this.

IMAG1773

Reminders of the time my nickname was 'Cocaine Cobain'................
Reminders of the time my nickname was ‘Cocaine Cobain’
…………….
I enjoy any kind of card that has moving bits. The snow shakes over the snowman!
I enjoy any kind of card that has moving bits. The snow shakes over the snowman!
IMAG1781-001
Kids get awesomely colourful cards.
I don't even remember who gave me this one, I just know it's awesome.
I don’t even remember who gave me this one, I just know it’s awesome.

People don’t often give cards these days, which I don’t mind so much because it’s better for the environment, but I do love these old ones. And the rare ones given in adulthood are just as treasured.

21 thoughts on “Dear…

  1. I love this idea of storing saved cards. I do the same as you – save all birthday and Christmas cards every year. Right now they stay stashed away in a box, but I love the idea of a key ring. I once saw an idea to frame favorites and create scattered wall art with them. The possibilities are endless!

  2. I still love a snail mailed card! I keep all of mine, too (mostly because I have hoarding tendencies) but I think this is a fabulous idea. Thanks for sharing – now I know what I’m going to do this weekend…!

  3. I think a lack of quality cards has led to my rarely giving them. Also, I know I prefer receiving a good letter or something else (I tend to find cards forgettable, unless the person giving puts in a good note or they’re the rare winner (like a few above)). I have to wonder if greeting cards will be around in 100 years.

    1. I don’t think they will be, really. People just don’t give them as often any more. I recently came across some awesome ones to give to friends for their 21sts that personally suited their tastes / humour, and I made sure to write something meaningful. And that’s really the only time I’ve given cards in ages, because as you inflected, when they’re just ‘to so and so, from so and so’ it’s quite a waste of paper.

  4. These are cool! I like the school for the gifted one. Made me giggle.
    Also I keep cards as well, with some exceptions – like ones from my ex and such. I’ve never met anyone else who does…
    My favourites are ones my class all made me when I was 7 and in hospital for a while. Some very random pictures!

Leave a Reply

