My A-Z of Literature

I found this idea through Committed to Celluloid, who continued the trend from Mettel Ray Movie Blog. Of course, they did theirs with movies – being their passion – but writing being mine, I thought I would tweak it a little for us book lovers! I’ve used my favourite authors, stories, and parts of the writing world to make my list. Feel free to make your own!

american-gods-hbo-neil-gaiman

A
American Gods by Neil Gaiman, my all-time favourite novel

B
Beloved, by Toni Morrison. Is it too ridiculous to just put ‘books’ under B? I’m going to. Books. Also, ‘Boy’ by Roald Dahl and Beatrix Potter.

610_capote_introC
Truman Capote – Breakfast at Tiffany’s is one of my all time favourite stories, plus you know, he’s Capote. Also up here in the C’s: The Crucible by Arthur Miller, and The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Saligner.

D
Disgrace by J.M Coetzee. Also under D: Damaged by Cathy Glass; the first book I read about the world of fostering children. It’s not particularly well-written, but it makes up for that in stark truth. Also, The Death of the Heart by Elizabeth Bowen. 


Bret Easton Ellis. While his works may disturb me and I do wish I’d never read American Psycho, there is no denying the talent behind the gory scenes. Also, The Exorcist by William Peter Blatty scared the poop out of me! It’s responsible for making me think there was a demon living in the roof of my bedroom

timthumb (1)F
Ken Follet. Author of one of my favourite novels; Pillars of the Earth.

G
Grammar. I’m no grammar expert (though I’d like to be one day) but I do know that without it, the books we love often wouldn’t flow so well. A runner-up shout out to Goodreads who keep me motivated to read another book.

H
High Fidelity by Nick Hornby. Runner up in the H’s is Hamlet by Shakespeare. I should probably put Hamlet first, but High Fidelity had all those quotes… Wait, Hamlet has one of the biggest quotes of all time… This shouldn’t be such a struggle. I’ll settle it with Harry Potter.

Interview-with-the-vampire-vampires-25076180-1024-768I
Interview With a Vampire by Anne Rice. 

J
Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë. 

K
The Kite Runner by Khalid Hosseini. 

L
Literature. Okay, that’s blatant cheating. Books and grammar we could handle, but literature might be going for the easy option a little too much. How about ‘literary abandon’? Those two words inspired me during NaNoWriMo.

Metamorphosis-cover-007M
The Metamorphosis by Franz Kafka. 

N
Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro. Novels. Novellas. Oops, did it again.

0
Oscar Wilde. I expected The Picture of Dorian Gray to be entirely different, but enjoyed it all the same. The man of fantastic quotes and originality. Also, The Omen by David Seltzer. Another book that scared the crap out of me, while also making me yell “kill him already!” and “she’s telling the truth!” at the pages.

P
Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen. There’s a reason this book is the favourite of so many, and I was happily surprised by it when I was seventeen. I expected impossibly dense sentences, boring story lines and stuffy characters. Instead, it was everything opposite.

fillQ
Quentin Blake. This should technically come under ‘B’, but I think I can make little adjustment considering it’s the letter Q.

R
Roald Dahl. Another favourite author whose ability to construct magical stories out of mundane life situations so effortlessly makes me blush with jealously.

S
Short Stories. The perfect recipe for a train ride, or a sunny afternoon. Second up, Scar Tissue by Anthony Kiedis. The first autobiography I ever read, mostly because of a teenage crush on the man, but the book was great enough to remain a favourite even past the girlish crush. Also, The Secret Garden.

T
At first I couldn’t think of anything for ‘T’, then suddenly a plethora of titles swamped my mind: To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee, The Taming of the Shrew by Shakespeare, The Two Towers by Tolkien, Tales of the Unexpected by Roald Dahl, A Tale of Two Cities, Treasure Island… I’ll stop now.

dribble_ubikU
Ubik by Phillip K. Dick. As per usual K. Dick story, Ubik left you wondering whether what you had just read really happened, or if the character was simply imagining it all. Regardless of the fictional truth, it’s impossible to put down until the end. Because it’s cursed. Not really.

V
Kurt Vonnegut. Is Slaughterhouse-Five your favourite of his works?

W
Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë. Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen.
And, ultimately,
Writing. Without it, keeping and telling stories would be a lot more difficult.

X
Nothing. I got nothin’. Feel free to pitch in with your own ‘X’!

Y
Year of Wonders by Geraldine Brooks.

Z
The Zombie Survival Guide, by Max Brooks. Because the zombies are coming, and you best get yourself an attack-proof, upstairs room that has a place for storing canned foods.

That’s it! My alphabet of Literature, enjoyable to make even if it’s not the bestest, ultimate-est list in the world. Enjoy!

23 thoughts on “My A-Z of Literature

  1. I am still in therapy getting over having read some of Stephan King’s books but others have enriched my life. I think he is a quite extraordinary writer. One he wrote fairly recently is an amazing read about time travel of all things. I literally couldn’t put it down which made the sewing very difficult. It is entitled “11/22/63” The premise being “if you could go back in time and stop the Pres Kennedy Assassination would you? What would the world be like if you did?” Hmmm. : )

    1. Everybody keeps saying these sorts of Stephen compliments, it’s getting silly that I haven’t read anything of his yet.
      That’s interesting… Then, all of his stories sound interesting. No idea which one to pick to start with.

  2. You piqued my interest. There is a book on Amazon that looks really cool called “The Joy of X,” about math. Great list!

Leave a Reply

