The Booker Award

If you remember my post Books and I, you’ll know that I always wanted this award as an excuse to list my favourite books. Well, now thanks to patwoodblogging I can! Twice because of that other post. Plus, I get to nominate 5 other bloggers to hear about  their favourite books, too – so be prepared to be nominated.

With the Booker Award, you’re required to list your top five reads, and what you’re currently reading before nominating five others. Rules done? Excellent.

Novels are my oldest, most constant friend. They’re what I hid behind as a lonely child in need of some solace, and what helped me through dark nights as I became older. My top 5 books are as follows:

  1. American Gods by Neil Gaiman
  2. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen
  3. Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follet
  4. Collected Short Stories by Roald Dahl
  5. Scar Tissue by Anthony Kiedis

These are the books that if I could only take what I could carry from my bookshelf, I’d grab these ones. These are the books that I felt most enthralled by. These are the books that took me in completely and didn’t let me go until the last page. I love these guys. I wanna get drunk and swap stories with these guys. Anyway…

Of course I can use a still from the movie when talking about the book.

The book that I’m currently reading is:

The Picture of Dorian Gray
by Oscar Wilde.

It’s my first reading of something by Oscar Wilde, and it’s quite different from what I expected, but enjoyable all the same.

Nominees:

  1. the quiet voice 
  2. Taryn Writes
  3. Alice in Readerland
  4. The Struggle to be a Writer that Writes
  5. The Alethiophile

I hope my nominees enjoy playing along if they choose to do so, and that you’re all currently enjoying a new book.

15 thoughts on “The Booker Award

    1. It’s not as good as I expected. Not that it’s bad, but it was hyped up too much I think. Everybody is a bit Oscar Wilde crazy that I expected a miracle – I should never get my hopes up too why, makes you disappointed.
      It’s a fantastic story though! Amazing! How it is told was the let down.

  1. Congratulations on the award, I would participate, but college applications and other life occurrences are keeping me occupied. 😦 Pride and Prejudice is lovely, and the other books you’ve listed are now on my to-read list!

    1. Not a problem! If when all that is finished and you have some free time, you’re welcome to come back and post your own later if you like 🙂
      Good luck with your college applications!

  2. Well done you. Haven’t read American Gods or Scar Tissue so that’s brilliant, I will correct that immediately. And it’s a while since I read anything from Roald Dahl too. Thank you for sharing and thank you very much for the ping!

  3. Nice! I’m currently reading Stephen Kings ‘Needful Things’ and it’s quite interesting. It’s definitely an eye opener when it comes to what people would do over the “things” they hold close.

    1. Ah, I need to read something by Stephen King. I can’t believe I call myself a writer but am yet to read anything of his. Ridiculous.
      You just made me want to read ‘Needful Things’. I might make this my first Stephen King expedition.

Leave a Reply

