Desert Island Top 5 Tracks

I just finished reading Nick Hornby’s High Fidelity, (possibly the most quotable book of all time) it’s pretty much assumed that the reader will do their own list after finishing. So yeah, I’m lacking originality, but some things you just gotta do.
Side note: I always thought this book was called “High Fatality”; I assumed it was a crappy ’80s story about a serial killer. I saw the movie before I read the book, and after my boyfriend put the film on I honestly kept wondering when they were all going to die.

My Top 5 Desert Island Tracks:

Number 1: Girl by Beck
I saw this on the telly at age 14, and that was it. I was gone. Beck flew into my life with force and new ideas. I loved it, simple. I think I’ve played it 10,000 times but I’m still not sick of it. I loved his music even more for not falling in ‘love’ with the artist – how I discovered a large portion of my music library as a teenage girl. Beck owns about 10 of my all time favourite songs.

Number 2: Cream / Kiss by Prince
Rob would be able to choose just one (after some real heartache and deliberation) but I can’t. I saw the ‘Cream’ video when I was 5, staring wide eyed at the screen, smitten and wanting to move to the music but not understanding how. Prince packs that much passion that my little 5 year old self felt confusedly flustered. I say ‘Cream’ is my favourite Prince track because it was the first Prince song I heard (always an easy way to pick)
But, Kiss. Ah, I can dance to this uninhibited. The lines “Act your age mama, not your shoe size” and “Women not girls, rule my world” – shiver.
And, “little girl, Wendy’s Parade” does something to me.
Number 3: Saint John by Cold War Kids
The Cold War Kids give me the kind of music shivers that make me turn the sound volume to 100, close my eyes and warble loudly. I’d say sing, but I can’t. Their first album is my favourite, and We Used to Vacation and Hospital Beds make my heart feel alive.

Number 4: Bloody Motherfucking Arsehole by Martha Wainwright
This is the point in time where I stop and say ‘no no change it, I don’t know!’ because while this song has been played hundreds of times by me, and invokes an odd passion inside of my soul (Gosh, the obnoxiousness coming from my mouth) I’m not sure if it makes into my top 5 favourites. I could replace this with Under the Bridge by the Red Hot Chili Peppers, which was almost included, but, I can’t. They tie and I have such history with both songs, and the Chili Peppers are my 2nd favourite band, ever. Meaningless decisions can be so tough.

Number 5: Closer by Nine Inch Nails
I’m sure Nine Inch Nails fans wouldn’t pick Closer as their favourite NIN song, but this little tune is impossible for me to skip, or not turn up to full volume and become lost in. The ending music covers me up and rolls me around. Plus the lines “You can have my isolation, you can have the hate that it brings, you can have my absence of faith, you can have my everything” and “help me think I’m somebody else” blow my little brain.

Aside from feeling 15 all over again (‘look at the really cool music I know! Aren’t I alternative and awesome? I hate pop!’ with band posters up everywhere) I do enjoy a good list of favourite music related topics. Here’s some of the other tunes that almost made the list:

Under the Bridge by the Red Hot Chili Peppers,  Lotion by the GreenskeepersThis Thing Called Love by Queen,  Son of a Preacher Man by Dusty Springfield,  Pure Shores by All Saints (you may laugh)   Middle of the Hill by Josh Pyke,  Ta Douleur by Camille,  Computer Camp Love by Datarock,  Ooh La La by Goldfrapp,  Don’t You Want Somebody to Love by Jefferson Airplane,  Walk by Pantera,  Stink Fist by Tool,  Let Me Be by Xavier Rudd,  Gold Lion by the Yeah Yeah Yeahs, Blue Jeans by Lana Del Rey  and I’m sure there are others I’ve overlooked.

What do you think Rob would make of my list? He’d scoff, of course. Bloody snob.

5 thoughts on “Desert Island Top 5 Tracks

    1. The Cold War Kids are fantastic, it’s great to see someone else has heard them. I’m surprised that more people haven’t.
      You know, I’ve only heard one Louis Armstrong song. I should probably hear some more stuff.

Leave a Reply

