Surviving Progress


http://survivingprogress.com/

“We have to use less.”
“Nature is not a credit card we can endlessly draw on.”

Remember my post yesterday about over-population, and that we should be limiting how many children we each have? Not just us, but everyone? Well last night as some sort of icing on the cake I watched the documentary Surviving Progress and I become set in stone on my point.

I’m not one to push things on people. I don’t normally try to force people into doing something I’ve done because I’ve found when you push, people resist. But this, bloggers, this documentary was superb. An eye opener. You know people always talk about ‘eye openers’ and you’re like, pfft please, don’t be silly. Well, it was.

Stephen Hawking said we only have 2 centuries left unless we can avoid disaster.

TWO CENTURIES.

And only if we ‘avoid’ disaster. Spending our lives avoiding disaster? Does that sound fun to any of you guys? Don’t turn away from this documentary of what we need to start doing as the entire population of Earth.

Image
I know I know, I sound a bit nuts and unpleasant. I can’t help it right now. Trust me, you’ll sound just as ‘oh gosh’ after watching it as well (you have the internet, you’re surely able to watch it via here, no excuses) but you’ll also start becoming a better member of society.

If you’d like to see if there’s something you could try to help (consuming less doesn’t mean having a worse life) Click this and check it out, the man was in the documentary, and if he can do what he did in New York City, you can do it anywhere. (Also, I know you’re on your computer right now, haha duh, but let’s all switch it off and save some electricity after we finish up on wordpress. We’ll be like an electricity saving team. Except you need more than 1 reader to be a team… oh)

http://noimpactproject.org/

Stephen Hawking theoretical physicist
“We are entering an increasingly dangerous period of our history.
But I’m an optimist.”

And don’t forget to click on the Surviving Progress website: http://survivingprogress.com/

2 thoughts on “Surviving Progress

  1. Am I being pessimistic or cynical if I say – maybe a good ol’ implosion is just what the earth needs? Let the earth shed this parasitic layer of skin that we humans have plagued it with?

    I joke. I joke. Of course.

    Or do I?

    …. I actually don’t know if I’m joking or not!

Leave a Reply

