Loudly Sings ‘Life is a Highway’

tumblr_mypooqqY6G1rau5rmo1_500

I’ve never made resolutions, paid attention to New Years nor tried to put pressure on myself over a date, but I am writing this to you in the New Year and it finally truly feels like time has moved forward. I still don’t have any resolutions, but at least 2014 has brought with it a finality to 2013 that I usually wouldn’t feel until about May in the New Year when I’d look at the Calendar and be shocked that time really had passed.

I said goodbye to 2013 and its miserable, pointless abundance of crappy in an unconscious, silent farewell the moment the clock ticked over. For this blog, I’m going to wrap up 2013 by listing some favourites of the year. Better than dwelling on the miserable times. A year can be the worst one you’ve had but once it’s done, you don’t have to spend all your time thinking about it any more.

1. Movies That Made the Year Happier: 

MV5BNTU5ODk5NDg0Nl5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwNzQwMjI1OQ@@._V1_SX640_SY720_

My favourite entertainment this year included:
- Prisoners (yum Jake Gyllenhaal haircut, ultimate suspense, perfect plot)
Rush (wonderful shots, great character competition, perfect creation of conflict on who to root for)
Blue Jasmine (Beautiful job by Cate Blanchett, Woody Allen)
About Time - Warm, funny, heart touching, real.
The Conjuring (I did poop my pants many a moment in the cinema. Not literally)
Side Effects (Compelling, lovely set up, twisty)
The Croods (I laughed out loud for real, “Aw dad, I don’t have a brain”)
- The Place Beyond the Pines (Ryan Gosling, Bradley Cooper, Gritty)
Before Midnight (Beautiful final film in touching trilogy that has spanned decades)
The Way Way Back (Sam Rockwell, families aren’t perfect, summer)
Blackfish (Documentary, captivating, you will never go to a Sea World park again)
The World’s End (Funny, ridiculous and yet believable, Simon Pegg)
The Hobbit: Desolation of Smaug (Extraordinary fake dragon, entrancing Hobbit journey)
American Hustle (Funny, Christian Bale, the ’70s style)
Saving Mr. Banks (Mary Poppins behind the scenes, Emma Thompson)

Honourable mentions: Star Trek Into Darkness, Now You See Me, Warm Bodies, Beautiful Creatures, Gravity.
I’m also still waiting to see 12 Years a Slave and Wolf of Wall Street. Why must Australia be so behind on movies.

Have yourselves a fantastic movie marathon night with a few of these. If people ask why, tell them Mittens sent you and to not ask stupid questions.

If I listened to new music, I’m sure I’d have a list of that too, sorry music lovers. As for books, I completed my goodreads challenge this year and now have a brain full of many more wonderful stories. And a few crappy ones that just won’t leave. Sadly, none of the books I read were 2013 releases so I’ll simply list a few favourites that were discovered that year. That works, right?

- Winter of the World by Ken Follet. I actually shed tears during this book and cannot wait for the next one in the series.
- Pet Sematary / The Shining / Cujo by Stephen King. Yes, this year I discovered Stephen King. Why did I not read him before!
- Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? by Phillip K. Dick. I always enjoy this author. He makes silly sci-fi themes believable and engrossing.
- The Need for Words by Patsy Rodenburg. Non-fiction centered around why we struggle to find confidence in our speech and how we can regain mastery of our own words. As a nervous stutterer / mumbler, this was great.

This was the year I lost my wisdom teeth, discovered a true love of working among animals (of course, I’ve only been working among them for a very short while so this may wear off at the first sign of poop), found it is good to branch out with your reading, cried a million tears (or thereabouts), known you can smile after all the crap, bought a bunch of fabulous dresses, learned to drive, lost and regained my desire to live… and found that all problems have answers in time.

Excuse me, I have to pack up my bags while blasting Life is a Highway to be as infuriatingly cheesy as possible, then go do things I didn’t think I ever could, one at a time. I hope to bring you some superb (or at least, kinda okay) blog posts this year. After all, this was the year I hit over a thousand followers (all of them brilliant).

neilgaiman

13 thoughts on “Loudly Sings ‘Life is a Highway’

  1. Awesome recap, indeed! I’m FINALLY reading Ken’s “Winter of the World” and I am completely captivated. The first one poked along a bit, but this book seems to be working the usual Follett magic on me. Happy New Year, Jess!

    • The first one did poke along a bit at the end I thought, sometimes with long books I can get a bit too eager for the ending but I definitely enjoyed it still. Winter of the World is fantastic though. Happy New Year to you too!

  2. Love your words Jessica,I was just saying to my personal trainer when he was talking about age, “look!” I said “if you are alive, you are alive!” The Way Way back annoyed me. All those awful, immature, selfish grownups and underappreciated children/teens. I liked the ending though. :-)

    • The grown ups reminded me of how grown ups appeared to me when I was young, of course, now I realise they weren’t at all that immature and awful. The ending was good! I like that, my mother is in her fifties and is one of the fittest people I know, and that’s something she would say. *mother bragging time*

Leave a Reply

