‘Favourite Book Covers’

This idea came from the wonderfully blog-talented, Wanton Creation / the Other Watson, click the link to check his favourites out.

Shall I open with the perhaps over-used line, you can’t judge a book by its cover? I know this is true for a lot of books (dodgy cover, good plot) and for people, the true subjects of the analogy, (pretty cover, ugly soul) but for whatever reason, I tend to feel more connected to the books whose covers caught my eye first. Picking a preferred cover for a specific books helps the book feel personal. When different books by the same author have covers in a similar style, I like to buy the one that matches what I have.

Now, behold my favourite covers so far:

4407

I really enjoy this series of covers for Neil Gaiman’s books.

This one is a favourite, possibly because it’s my favourite book.

I also enjoy this style on his story, ‘Stardust’ which is in silver instead of gold.  There’s something about the colours and font that add to the magical quality of  the stories themselves.

.

.

.

19336

This one actually encompasses all of the covers of Beatrix Potter’s children books.

The illustrations are beautiful.

These stories remind of the rainy, Sunday afternoons when the show would start and I would sit entranced watching the books come to life in the same wonderful drawings.

Did anybody else watch the show? Click here to see the intro on youtube.

.

.

.

.

6532681

You’re going to see a pattern emerging from my choices… It’s safe to say that I  am attracted to covers that are black with text and pictures in different colours. These styles seem so clean and pretty that I  have to pick them.

I particularly enjoy the photo of Roald here, looking serious and deep. It’s  almost as if the story inside is going to be a tragic autobiography instead of a  collection of short stories.

.

.

.

.

.

2409331

I also like vintage looking covers.

I like this cover for the simple red with the overlaying pattern, as well as the understated but full-of-meaning title. Jane Eyre. It says everything it has to say just with the small text.

The hanging key drawing is mysterious and pretty.

This cover fits in so well among the black covers that the contrast makes it that much more attractive.

.

.

.

.

1254150

 The Pillars of the Earth’s cover makes it here for a lot of the same reasons as American Gods. 

The simple white and gold over the dark background. This one, though, has the  added mystery of the patterns in the corner and the coat-of-arms-like picture in  the centre.

The feel is very period-drama with a hint of mystery, just like the story inside.

.

.

.

.

.

6395956

More plain colours! How predictable are my book-cover tastes?

Again, I like this one for the vintage look. I don’t normally like book covers with people on them for a couple of reasons: 1. sometimes the people don’t match the characters you see in your mind’s eye, 2. sometimes the photo of them is really bad, eg, fake smiles or awkward positioning that takes away from the artistic and serious feel of the book.

This one however, works because of the blurry face, truly joyous-looking expression, the costume and the way she seems to be a part of the past told in the book.

.

.

.

17250

 The Crucible’s cover is dark, perfectly depicting the coming story inside.

 The slight bow of the capped head above the pitch-black background. It’s as if  this person is thinking of a lie or thinking on the events or watching court  procedings from a balcony.

 It suggests. It sets a tone. Ominous. 

 A good book cover sets the tone for whats to come on the pages behind it.

.

.

.

.

464164

Harry Potter, of course!

Another style of covers for each book that were my favourite. Were these a popular copy for other readers?

I liked this one the best because I was so excited to read this book that I pored over this cover wondering what on earth the creature was and who the girl was.

The illustration on these covers also whisked up my imagination.

.

.

.

.

I only included covers for books I’ve read, mostly because these are the ones I remember.
What are you favourites? Does the cover impact on your decision to buy?

3 thoughts on “‘Favourite Book Covers’

  1. Oooh some really cool ones on here. I have the exact same cover for the Roald Dahl book and The Pillars Of The Earth, and about half of my Neil Gaiman books are of the same style as the one you have. I have a different cover for Water For Elephants though (I know I got one of the older prints, but there are A LOT of different covers for that book now). I like with the Harry Potter books how well the illustrations on those covers match the movies, actually, as odd as that might sound! :)

Leave a Reply

