The Next Big Thing

I’ve been tagged by The Bitter Sweet for the Next Big Thing Blog Hop upcoming author tagging game. Which is awesomely fun (who doesn’t love to write about writing? While, of course, giving nothing away) so thank you for sending this my way The Bitter Sweet! If you want to take a peak at her novel info, click the top line link :)

What is the working title of your book?
F. W.

What genre does your book fall under?
I would say semi-fantasy and drama.

What is the one sentence synopsis of your book?
Character is faced with tough choices, both of which could either save or condemn the human race.

Where did you get the idea for your book?
I can hardly remember now. I started thinking about it around five years ago. I think it came to me as I stared into my cats water bowl outside on my porch. (can you call it a porch if it’s just stones at your front door not raised from the ground?)

Who or what inspired you to write this book?
I was inspired to get down and into writing it all out with some proper dedication by the writers in my personal life more than the professionals. But, as far as the story itself goes there was nobody that sparked the idea.

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?
The entirety of NaNoWriMo and these first weeks of December. Still procrastinating the ending – I was happy to ‘just write and get it down’ for the first three quarters, but now I’m wanting to get the ending perfect the first time, need to let go until the second draft.

What other books would you compare this story with in your genre?
Hmm. So far, nothing that I’ve read. I’m certain that there are books like mine, I just haven’t read them. I know that sounds wanky (I’m one of a kind! oOoOoOoh!) but I’m writing something different from the styles I’ve generally opted to read so aren’t sure what’s out there in the field similar to this.

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?
I’d love a short Nina Dobrev or a serious Emma Stone, and maybe some Andrew Garfield as the support male character. Not sure who the main male character would be. Ooh, and if God existed and granted me the ultimate wish, Daniel Day Lewis as the bad guy.

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?
The wish is always agency representation! The cover art is always that touch more sleeker. Totally the only reason.

What else about your book might pique your reader’s interest?
There’s struggle, some violence, a supernatural element,  family dynamics, isolation, a strong female character, a few modern issues that ask the big questions… but, if you’re not interested in bigger life questions, there’s always the romance element. Oh, and I write in the ‘love’ scenes / make out scenes, nothing too ‘erotic’, just how it suits the style and makes sense to the story, nothing gratuitous . I was contemplating leaving out the descriptions of those moments, but I came across a quote that was something along the lines of ‘writing the parts you might be afraid to’ that inspired me to leave those scenes in.

That’s it! I guess I better get to the ending already and then begin the editing process. It feels like it’s never going to be published, but also like it will be published soon, all at the same time. Half of me says, ‘your dreams will fail’, and the other half tells me, ‘great things are coming.’ I’m not sure which side to believe.

People Whose Work I’m Interested In: (sorry I just tacked this on now) Feel free to share as much or as little as you please, you next big thing’s you.

Not too certain who else is writing a book out of the people I’m following – I’m sure there’s more of you! Let me know if you are, and feel free to write your own post if you want to share something about your work in progress! (this isn’t an ‘award’, so nobody really has to ‘nominate’ you)

9 thoughts on “The Next Big Thing

  1. Pingback: A little bit about the book I am writing | All World Issues

Leave a Reply

